LibGuides: MRKT 305: Marketing Research: Market Research

Search the Market Research Literature

ABI INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business database including scholarly journals, news, trade journals and more. Includes all ABI Inform databases.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary academic database covering scholarly journals, newspapers, and more. An excellent place to begin your research.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Major business literature database that includes articles, industry, company and economic information.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Database of articles related to communication and mass media.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary academic database covering scholarly journals, newspapers and more. An excellent place to begin your research.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers psychology and related disciplines with full-text linking to PsycArticles and other e-journal providers as available.

Use Industry Reports for key operating conditions, major players, trends, forecasts, financial data, business challenges, barriers to entry, etc.

First Research This link opens in a new window
In depth Industry Profiles including industry overview and forecast, trends and opportunities, business challenges, recent developments, and financial information.
IBIS World This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 700 industries, IBIS World is an important tool for Industry Market Research. Search by Industry, Keyword, or NAICS code. Includes Industry Research Reports and Industry Risk Rating Reports, and Public Company profiles.
BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Industry Reports include financial analysis, market research, and local business summary. Bizminer Tutorials

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Scroll down to you see the icon for Demographics
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create maps and generate reports (i.e., tables) based on demographic data from the United States Census and related surveys (1790 to present).
Learn more about using Social Explorer.
SRDS: Standard Rate and Data Service (Kantar) This link opens in a new window
Advertising information resource. RWU subscription includes Radio, TV & Cable, Consumer Magazines, and Business Publications.

Google Local
Great tool to map local businesses in your area of choice. For example, search "02809 ice cream" to map the locations of ice cream shops in the 02809 zip code.

A to Z databases This link opens in a new window
AtoZdatabases is a Job Search, Reference & Mailing List Database including 30 million business & executive profiles & 240 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more! Only available to RI residents or on campus.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Over 1.5 million statistics plus dossiers, studies and infographics.

Pew Research Center
Look at the Topics area on the second navigation bar.
Pew Internet & American Life Project
"The Pew Internet & American Life Project is one of seven projects that make up the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan, nonprofit 'fact tank' that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. "
Nielson Insights
GFK Group
Search by keyword at the top of the page.
Abt Associates