Primary Source resources
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014
- EEBO - Early English Books Online
For faster access on campus click here
. "Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War."
- Sanborn Maps
RWU Library subscription gives you access to fire insurance maps of towns and cities in Rhode Island and Massachusetts, .
- Harvard Map Collection
The Harvard Map Collection is one of the oldest and largest collections of cartographic materials in the United States. A selection of their materials has been digitally imaged and is offered both as true picture images and georeferenced copies.
- Historic Map Works
Extensive digital map collections with over 200,000 high-resolution, full color historic maps. The core of the collection consists of property and land ownership maps illustrating the geographic and development history of the United States.
Digitized backfiles of scholarly journals dating back to the 1800s.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Early American Newspapers, Series I 1690-1876
- Chronicling America: America's Historic Newspapers
An Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
- Internet Library of Early Journals
Joint project of the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester, and Oxford to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals.
- Making of America Journals
Collection contains searchable full-text journal articles from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
- New York Times Historical
Search and access the full text of the New York Times from 1851 - 2003. If you need full text current coverage of the New York Times, use the LexisNexis Academic database.
- Boston Globe Historical
The Boston Globe (1872-1979) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
- Women’s Studies in Digital Archives
Primary source materials for women's studies within digital archives.
- Beinecke Online
Search for photographs, textual documents, illuminated manuscripts, maps, works of art, and books from the Yale Beinecke Library collections.
- Dicover Yale Digital Content
Search across Yale's collections of art, natural history, books, and maps, as well as photos, audio, and video documenting people, places, and events that form part of Yale's institutional identity and contribution to scholarship.
- World Oral Literature Project
A repository and clearinghouse for oral literature projects and collections worldwide.
- Ad* Access
A collection of images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Main subjects covered include radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene and World War II