Scholarly Resources on the Web: Home

Books & E-books

Digital Collections on the Web

DOCS@RWU: RWU Digital Commons
The repository is a service of the Roger Williams University libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers on campus.
OAIster
OAIster's goal is to create a collection of freely available, difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone.  Searches over 3 million records from over 282 institutions. The service will provide one-stop "shopping" for users interested in useful digital resources.
MIT DSpace
MIT Research in digital form, including preprints, technical reports, working papers, conference papers, images, and more.
University of California eScholarship Repository
CiteSeer.IST
Scientific Literature Digital Library

Ephemera

Articles & Pre-prints

ArXiv e-print archive for research in physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology.
BioMed Central "BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research." 
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals
E-Print Network An integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students.
Free Medical Journals Free web access to selected medical journals.
Google Scholar Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
High Wire Press Free full text science archives from Stanford University.
PLOS Biology PLoS Biology is a peer-reviewed open-access journal published monthly by the Public Library of Science
PubMed Central "PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature."
Scirus Comprehensive science-specific search engine.  Links to university sites, reports, web resources, and articles. It was launched by Elsevier Science. Free on web.

American Studies -- General Resources