This is the "General Information" page of the "University Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Admin Sign In 

University Archives   Tags: archives  

Last update: Nov 22, 2011 URL: http://rwu.libguides.com/archives  Print Guide ShareThis

General InformationPrint Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

About the Archives

The Roger Williams University Archives is a repository for records relating to the history of the institution. It is a department of the Roger Williams University Library.

Purpose

The Archives supports the University’s commitment to the pursuit of knowledge through research and teaching by acquiring, arranging and describing, preserving, and making accessible University records of enduring value. The Archives is the official repository for all non-current records of  Roger Williams University and its predecessors, including administrative records, academic program records, student newspapers and yearbooks, and material from faculty and student organizations. The papers of the Roger Williams Family Association and back issues of the Bristol-Phoenix Newspaper are also housed in the Archives, along with the University’s Special Collections.

 

Responsibilities of the Archivist

  • The Archivist reports to the Dean of University Library Services.
  • The Archivist collects, maintains, and makes accessible the non-current records of the Univeristy.
  • The Archivist reserves the right to decline or subsequently dispose of material that lacks permanent historical value or duplicates other holdings. All decisions will be consistent with the Archives’ policies.

 

     

    Policies -- Using the Archives

    Rules and Regulations:

    • Prior to being given access to the collection, external media representatives must first receive permission from the Office of University Publications.
    • Physical access to the stack area is limited to designated personnel during specified hours. Browsing the collection is not permitted.
    • Please take notes in pencil only or on your laptop. Pencils and notepaper are available from the Archivist.
    • All personal belongings must be stored in the area provided.
    • Please handle all material with care, making sure to maintain the order of materials.
    • Eating, drinking, and smoking are not permitted in the archives reading room.
    • Photocopying is permissible, if it is in accordance with transfer agreements and copyright regulations. The Archivist has the right to refuse photocopy requests if the material is exceptionally valuable, fragile, or too large/heavy. All photocopying must completed by the Archivist. (Please see our fee schedule for photocopying costs.)
    • Any researcher wishing to publish from Archives materials agrees to obtain permission prior to publication from the Dean of University Library Services, from all holders of copyright, and from other interested parties as applicable. The researcher agrees to accept full responsibility for complying with laws enacted to protect copyright and associated privacy acts.
    • The Archivist reserves the right to refuse access to archival materials to anyone who fails to abide by the above rules.

      Contact Information

      Profile Image
      Heidi Benedict
      Contact Info:
      University Library, Second Floor
      401-254-3049
      Send Email
      Description

      Loading  Loading content... please wait