Skip to main content

Distance & Continuing Education Students

FAQs

Where is my library barcode and why is it important?

Your library barcode is located on the back of your student ID.  Use it to request a book or place an interlibrary loan request for an article.

What is HELIN? 

HELIN is a consortium of academic and health libraries in Rhode Island and nearby Massachusetts.  

I live far away, how can I access the e-books found in the catalog?

In most cases you just need to click on the "view online" link and then you will be prompted to enter your default MyRWU username and password.  More information about downloading and using e-books can be found on our Using E-books Libguide.

How can I access library resources online?

 Except for print books, almost all library resources can be found online.  Start at the library home page at http://library.rwu.edu

  • If you know the database you need, use the alphabetical database grid on the home page to connect
  • If you don't know what you need try a Subject or Course Guide or go to Articles and Databases to browse resources by subject area.
  • To connect to a library online resource just click on the link and enter your name and library barcode when prompted.

 Why am I getting an error message when tryiing to access an article from a library database?

Be sure you are accessing the library database through a library subject or course guide or the database page of the library web site.  If the Library web site is linked from your Bridges course site make sure it opens in a new window or open a new browser window and connect to http://library.rwu.edu

My professor wants me to read an article for class.  How do I find it?

  • Simply click on Article Citation Finder and fill out as much information as you can.  If RWU library subscribes to the journal the article is in, you should be connected to it online.
  • If it the article is NOT available online, fill out a request for Interlibrary Loan.  The RWU Main Library will locate the article for you and send it via email or postal mail.
  • If you are having any trouble -- just contact us!

What if the material I want isn't available at RWU?

For Books:
Use our Library Catalog to see If the book is available in another library, click on the Request Item button, scroll down and fill in your name, library barcode, and email address.

For Articles:
If you are using an online database, click on the full-text availability link to see if there is an electronic copy available. If not, choose the Request an article through interlibrary loan link, enter your information, and click submit.

OR fill out the interlibrary loan article request at: http://library.rwu.edu/rwu-ill