Government Information

Economic Indicators.gov

Provides links to the latest indicators, such as new residential construction and GDP.

 

Industry, Trade & the Economy: Data & Analysis (Export.gov)

Contains many pages devoted to U.S. trade. Subjects covered from monthly reports, individual U.S. states, and industry and country data

 

U.S. Department of Labor

 

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Consumer Price Indexes (CPI )

Energy Statistics from the Energy Information Administration

Provides historical and contemporary data on all kinds of fuel.

 

Environmental Protection Agency

• Toxic Release Data
• Superfund contains information about hazardous sites throughout the U.S.

 

National Oceanic & Atmospheric Agency (NOAA)

Renewable Resource Data Center,

by the Department of Energy, provides publications, data, and maps.

Bureau of Transportation: Statistics

Department's statistics home page.

• Transportation Statistics has data about transportation, from bikes to planes.

GPO Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

 

 

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation consists of a linked set of published congressional records of the United States of America from the Continental Congress through the 43rd Congress, 1774-1875.

 

 

USA.gov

As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web.

 

 

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.

 

 

U.S. Government Manual

As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.

National Center for Education Statistics

Is the primary federal organization within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences that is responsible for collecting statistics relating to education in the U.S. and other nations.

• Common Core of Data (CCD) contains comprehensive national statistics relating to public elementary and secondary education.
• Fast Facts provides quick data on the most common educational issues.
• Quick Tables and Figures contains easily accessible statistics which are searchable by keyword, topic area, and year.
•  

U.S. Census Bureau

 

Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices

is an archive of data from the U.S. Department of State documenting U.S. international trade practices and economic policy.

USAID

is the federal government agency that provides international assistance pertaining to democracy, health, economics, etc. Use the Country Locaton on the right to find how much money is allocated in the budget in assistance for each country.

U.S. Department of State

Bureau of Arms Control - Reports provides statistics and charts on world military expenditures and arms transfer deliveries/trade.

Patterns of Global Terrorism is a collection of charts containing data on various topics relating to terrorist attacks.

The World Factbook

CIA has general information about every country

 

National Sample Survey of Registered Nurses

Data about nurses in U.S.

 

Cancer Statistics

National Cancer Institute holds a large amount of data and maps about cancer in the U.S.

 

Center for Medicaid and Medicare Research: Statistics, Data & Research Information

 

CDC Data & Statistics

Main page for the statistics for the CDC.

• Aging Activities contains data about health and aging.
• Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance Survey (BRFSS) is a telephone survey on health risks in the U.S.
• CDC Wonder has data for epidemiological research.
• FastStats offers a nice index of data by location and disease.

 

HCUPnet ( Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project)

National, regional and state data on community hospitals. National and regional HCUP data have OB-GYN, ENT, orthopedic, cancer, pediatric, public, and academic medical hospitals.

 

United States Department of Health and Human Services

 

Crime in the United States 2004

Detailed statistics on arrests

 

Bureau of Justice: Crime Statistics

Data on law enforcement and different types of crime.

 

Crime Data Explorer

 

Bureau of Justice: Crime Statistics

Data on law enforcement and different types of crime.

 

 

Office of Homeland Security: Immigration

Recent data on immigration and enforcement. 

 

 

United States Patent and Trademark Office

Start your search here for patents issued by the United States Government.

GB Esp@cenet

Developed by the European Patent Office, it is a good place to search for patents from countries other than the USA.