Marketing and demographic resources for creating a small business plan.
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2013
- ABI Inform
Comprehensive business database -- the best place to start your business research. Here you will find articles in scholarly journals, trade publications, business magazines, and newspapers - including the WSJ and Financial Times.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
Good place to get U.S. government statistics on employment, consumer, and producer prices, industry, and labor.
Good for: Consumer Expenditure data and identifying relevant economic information (see Regional Offices and Wages by Area and Occupation
- Country Watch
Provides critical country-specific intelligence and data. Find the World News Connection stories under the Country Wire link.
- Foreign Information by Country
Links to web sites for approximately 245 countries. Works best with Internet Explorer.
- Global Road Warrior
Includes a wealth of country and business travel informaton.
- globalEDGE - Country Insights
"Countries is your source for statistical data for 199 countries around the world. In addition to statistics, historical, economic, and political conditions are available."
- A to Z World Business
Select either a country from left selection box or try Basics of International Trade from right selection box.
- Community Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics -- Reference Print Collection
REF HA203 S67 Use for demographic info and to find spending potential indexes.
- United States Census Bureau -American Factfinder
Best place for zip code specific demographics on population, education, income, etc.
- SRDS Local Market Audience Analyst. Only one user at a time. MUST USE Internet Explorer.Select Demographic Overview and your Demographic Market Area (DMA) or County.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Authoritative reference source for U.S. statistical information.
Lifestyle Market Analyst - Reference Print Collection
REF HF5415.33 U6 L54
Includes DMA market and lifestyle profiles. Good for data on consumer preferences in specific market areas.
Now Online as SRDS Local Market Audience Analyst. Only one user at a time. MUST USE Internet Explorer.
Community Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics - Reference Print Collection
REF HA203 S66
Includes spending potential indexes by individual zipcode.
Use to locate number of businesses by type for specific zip codes and nearby communities. Choose the County Business Patterns Data (NAICS) link found towards the center of the opening web page.
- Hoover's Online
For faster access on campus click here
. Offers company, industry, and market information. Use Build a List function to get information about other companies in your industry.
Similar to Google Local this is an online yellow pages.
- Google Local
This is a great tool to map out what local businesses are in your area. For instance, search "02920 ice cream" to map out the location of ice cream shops in the zipcode 02920.
- City Data.com
Compiled information and statistics on U.S. cities -- population, housing, local economy, industry, education, crime, etc.
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
Guide to publications and broadcasting stations including newspapers, magazines, journals, radio stations, television stations, and cable systems.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
Select Regional Offices under Subect Areas in the Nav Bar and then state - city fact sheets.
- Regional Economic Conditions (RECON)
Provides an economic overview by U.S. geographical area. Search for tables and charts by state, Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), or county.
Refworks is a web-based program that helps you to organize your research. Use references entered into your refworks account to create a bibliography or format your paper.