LibGuides: BUSN 100: Enterprise: Industry & Marketing Research

Explore -- Find Articles on Industries, Trends, Companies, etc.

ABI INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business database including scholarly journals, news, trade journals and more. Includes all ABI Inform databases.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Find articles, company, industry, and market information. Use advanced search to sort by fields or publication types.
Wall Street Journal - Digital Edition This link opens in a new window

Locate NAICS Codes
more...less...
NAICS is an industry classification system that the government uses to organize information about industries and companies. It is important to know the NAICS and SIC codes for the companies and industries you are researching since so many databases let you search by the NAICS or SIC number to find industry averages and comparison data.

BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Industry Reports include financial analysis, market research and local business summary. Watch a tutorial on Bizminer's Industry Financial Reports
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Enter your industry name as a keyword and then scroll down to search by Publication Type -- Industry Profile.
First Research This link opens in a new window
In depth Industry Profiles including industry overview and forecast, trends and opportunities, business challenges, recent developments, and financial information.
IBIS World This link opens in a new window
IBIS is an important tool for Industry Market Research.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Provides access private and public U.S and international companies, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.

Small Business Development Center
National Information Clearinghouse for Small Business. Offers Industry Trends, finding NAICS codes, and market research.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Over 1.5 million statistics plus dossiers, studies and infographics.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
For help in using maps in Social Explorer, go to their Help page

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Scroll down and choose Demographics.
BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Use the Industry Market Analysis section and create reports for Industry Market Reports, Market Radius Profiles, and Competitive Market Analyzer.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Over 1.5 million statistics plus dossiers, studies and infographics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource of United States statistical information.

Google Local
Great tool to map local businesses in your area of choice. For example, search "02809 ice cream" to map the locations of ice cream shops in the 02809 zip code.

A to Z databases This link opens in a new window
AtoZdatabases is a Job Search, Reference & Mailing List Database including 30 million business & executive profiles & 240 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more! Only available to RI residents or on campus.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Use the Advanced Search to identify companies and competitors by location. Check out this great video to learn more.
BizMiner This link opens in a new window
See the Industry Market Trends Reports and Competitive Market Narrative for your industry.

City Data.com
Compiled information and statistics on U.S. cities -- population, housing, local economy, industry, education, crime, etc.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Select Regional Offices under Subect Areas in the Nav Bar and then state - city fact sheets.

Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides critical country-specific intelligence and data. Find the World News Connection stories under the Country Wire link.
http://www.countrywatch.com.rwulib.idm.oclc.org/intelligence/countryreviews
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Includes a wealth of country information including economic and demographic data.

globalEDGE - Country Insights
Primarily business rankings but good for economic and political conditions. Headlines and economic statistics given for each country.

A to Z World Business This link opens in a new window
Business & Trade practices for over 100 countries.

Doing Business
"The Doing Business Project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level."