Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for Teaching and Learning

Review this list of helpful content creation tools as well as established collections to enhance your courses.

Video Collections

Kanopy: https://rwu.kanopystreaming.com/ - the RWU Library has recently introduced a new video streaming service, Kanopy, whose collection includes thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases by a number of leading producers, such as Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, BBC, Kino Lorber, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel and hundreds more.

You can search by title or subject, easily share films, create clips or teaching playlists, and seamlessly embed content into Bridges. Hundreds of new films are added to the collection each week, and all films are accessible for vision and hearing impaired users. The best part, public performance rights are included with each film!

Please feel free to reach out to your library liaison with any questions or comments concerning Kanopy.

Common Craft "In Plain English" main page

TeacherTube - YouTube type videos by educators for educators

TED Talks: http://www.ted.com/talks

TED-ED Lessons Worth Sharing - http://ed.ted.com/ Create your own lessons around TED ED videos. You can view the current 209,809 lessons that have been developed as examples to get started or - add your own to the collection!

PBS Video Library: http://video.pbs.org/ PBS hosts a decent collection of educational videos for both humanities and science (NOVA documentaries, for example).

LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com) video library: https://lyndalog.rwu.edu/ . Take advantage of this RWU site license for Lynda.com to offer tutorial videos on literally thousands of topics from software to soft skills. You can link to a single video, create a playlist of multiple videos for your students or choose to have students turn in certificates of successful completion of a tutorial. (Note that we have a special login to access the RWU subscription.)

Biology Related Videos Essential Cell Biology Short videos for many different biology concepts. These videos are supplemental material provided with the the textbook, "Essential Cell Biology" by Garland Science.

Goanimate - create animated videos

HapYak - create interactive videos

National Geographic Video Collection offers a wide range of topics…all beautifully written and filmed. http://video.nationalgeographic.com

Check123 - more than 20,000 Curated Videos from all over the World in the Web's first SOCIAL Video Encyclopedia. These videos are specifically geared to education and cover a wide range of subjects. http://www.check123.com/

 

* indicates broken link

Video Creation

Panopto site license - available from your Bridges My Workspace and course menus.

Doodly Drag-and-Drop Doodle Video Creator

 MovieMaker - included free with the Windows operating system. Good for basic video editing, this link goes to the Windows Vista instructions but there are different versions based on your Windows OS that can be found on the Microsoft site

iMovie - included free with the Mac operating system. Good for basic video editing, this link goes to instructions on iMovie 08 but there are different versions based on your Mac OS that can be found on the Apple site

Jing (TechSmith Capture replaces Jing in 2020) -The ID team uses this free tool almost daily. Jing sits at the top of your Windows desktop and provides a fast, easy way to capture images or take screenshots or create up to 5-minute demonstrations or videos on what you see on your screen. Use it to explain a concept or process, troubleshooting, collaborating on a design project, narrating photos, explaining ideas, or providing feedback

Eyejot.com - Eyejot is the first, comprehensive, client-free online video messaging platform ideal for both personal and business communications. It offers everyone the ability to create and receive video messages in a self-contained, spam-free environment. With no client to install, you can start using Eyejot immediately with any browser, on any platform.