LibGuides: Chemistry: Databases

Search Library Collections

Essential Databases

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
Online journals of the American Chemical Society.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Reference Resources of all types of physical
science data. Includes interactive tables.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Engineering Index This link opens in a new window
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Science Direct This link opens in a new window

Where to find CAS Registry Numbers

CAS Registry Numbers are used in many reference books, text books, and journal articles to unambiguously identify specific chemical substances. Before beginning any literature search involving a chemical substance, try and find the CAS RN for your substance. Below are some of the resources that provide CAS RNs.

SciFinder (See Tab above for more information about using SciFinder)

ChemSpider

Chemistry

Subject Liaison

Need Help? Ask Us!

Search Library Collections

Essential Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Where to find CAS Registry Numbers