This is the "Open Access" page of the "Open Access & Scholarly Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Open Access & Scholarly Communication  

Last Updated: Jun 25, 2014 URL: http://rwu.libguides.com/openaccess Print Guide

Open Access Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Open Access

Open Access

"Open access (OA) literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licenisng restricitons.  What makes it possible is the internet and the consent of the author or copyright-holder."  From Peter Suber, A Very Brief Introduction to Open Access

Open Access Directory

OpenDOAR
Authoritative Directory of Open Access Repositories.  Lets you search for repositories or serarch repository content.

Digital Commons Network
Explore 650,000+ works from 275 institutions -- Including Roger Williams University.

OAISTER
OAISTER is a union catalog providing metadata records and links to digital resources from open archive collections including born-digital texts, audio and video files, images, datasets, theses, conference reports, research reports and technical reports. 

Creative Commons

  • Creative Commons
    Learn how to license your creative work through Creative Commons.
    CC licenses help creators retain copyright while allowing others to copy, distribute, and make some uses of their work.
  • Science Commons

NIH Public Access Policy

The NIH Public Access Policy ensures that the public has access to the published results of NIH funded research. It requires scientists to submit final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts that arise from NIH funds to the digital archive PubMed Central upon acceptance for publication

 

Open Access: Video

Free, Unrestricted, Online Access - Watch this video from SPARC to learn more about how Open Access works.



Open Access Journal and Data Collections

  • DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
    Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages
  • DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
    Increases the discoverability of academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access.
  • PubMed Central
    PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
  • BioMed Central
    BioMed Central publishes 243 peer-reviewed open access journals.
  • Databib
    Databib is a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data.
  • Data.gov
    Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government.
  • JURN Directory
    A curated academic search-engine, indexing 4,486 free ejournals in the arts & humanities.
  • Open Humanities Press
    A grassroots response to the crisis in scholarly publishing in the humanities. "All OHP publications are fully and rigorously peer reviewed."
  • PLoS: Public Library of Science
    Publishing 7 open access science journals. PLos is one of the first and most significant open access publishers in the sciences,
  • SSOAR
    The Social Science Open Access Repository -- articles in both English and foreign languages.
  • SSRN
    Social Science Research Network is one of the largest OA repositories in the world.
  • ArXiv
    Open access to nearly 800,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Quantitative Biology, and Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
  • Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry
  • Hindawi Publishing Corporation
    "Hindawi is a rapidly growing academic publisher with 467 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines."
 

Digital Public Library of America

"A portal for students, teachers, and scholars bringing together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums.  Searchable and freely available.

 

 

Open Access Books

HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than sixty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
Increases the discoverability of academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access.

Project Gutenberg
Download over 33,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device.

Open Library
A project of the Internet Archive.

Google Books

 

SPARC Daily

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip