More than just a dictionary, the OED traces the origins, evolution, and usage of words over time. Use it to explore the historical meaning of words, find pronunciation guides, or analyze how language has changed. Great for close reading and textual analysis.
Start your research here! Search hundreds of reference books at once to find definitions, topic overviews, and background info. Links to other library databases help you dig deeper.
Search JSTOR to find peer-reviewed journal articles and scholarly e-books across a wide range of disciplines. This digital archive supports deep research in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and arts, with strong historical coverage. Ideal for students writing research papers or conducting literature reviews. Note: Be sure to check publication dates—JSTOR includes many older articles that may not reflect current research.
Access full-text scholarly journals and eBooks in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Use this platform for academic writing in literature, philosophy, cultural studies, and more. Especially helpful for accessing peer-reviewed work from university presses.
Search scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in literature, language, and related fields. Use this database to trace how a critical theory has been applied across different texts, explore research on language acquisition, or find sources for close readings in literary studies.
Use this tool to find peer-reviewed articles, news, and magazines across nearly every academic field. A great place to begin research on any topic. Tip: Get the EBSCO mobile app to view content from all of the Library's EBSCO database subscriptions on your smartphone.
Explore author biographies, literary criticism, plot summaries, and book reviews. This database provides full-text access to scholarly articles and reference books for analyzing literary texts and authors.
This archive contains more than 1,100 articles from current and past issues of the Writer's Chronicle as well as online exclusive articles about writing and pedagogy. Many articles are available only to members
Authors discuss their life and writing in revealing conversations in The Paris Review’s Writers at Work interview series.