There are a couple of tools you can use to learn about the quality of your article for research.
Magazines for Libraries
REF Z6941 K2 2013 -- Billing itself as "reviewing the best publications since 1969" this reference source describes the most important journals in each discipline. Just being included in Magazines for Libraries indicates that a journal is a core title for the discipline. For this class you will want to look at the entries found under Literary Reviews and Literature.
Of special note -- For each journal described they also tell you what database (Abstract and Index) indexes its content. So you will want to pay special attention to those indexed by MLA-IB (Modern Lanaguage Association - International Bibliography).
The short summaries for each journal also tells the scope, purpose, and intent of each magazine (including bias if any), and target audience.
Ulrich's Index to Periodical Literature
Ulrich's Web
is especially useful if you have a title you want to check in its database. Search your title and find out what formats (print or online) the journal is published in, what databases index the journal title, it's start year, publisher, frequency, content type, where it can be found fulltext, etc.
Connect to the Journal's Web Page - this can be done by Googling the journal title or linking through Ulrich's Web
Search scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in literature, language, and related fields. Use this database to trace how a critical theory has been applied across different texts, explore research on language acquisition, or find sources for close readings in literary studies.
Search JSTOR to find peer-reviewed journal articles and scholarly e-books across a wide range of disciplines. This digital archive supports deep research in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and arts, with strong historical coverage. Ideal for students writing research papers or conducting literature reviews. Note: Be sure to check publication dates—JSTOR includes many older articles that may not reflect current research.
Access full-text scholarly journals and eBooks in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Use this platform for academic writing in literature, philosophy, cultural studies, and more. Especially helpful for accessing peer-reviewed work from university presses.
Use this tool to find peer-reviewed articles, news, and magazines across nearly every academic field. A great place to begin research on any topic. Tip: Get the EBSCO mobile app to view content from all of the Library's EBSCO database subscriptions on your smartphone.