Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Online Encyclopedias to gather background information and keywords about your research topic. Subject encyclopedias can be especially useful starting points.
Online Reference Collections
Online Reference Collections
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting place for gathering insight and exploring the pros and cons of issues in the news.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Great place to start your research! Search across hundreds of reference titles and link out to other library databases.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text online access to a growing collection of reference books. Search titles individually or search multiple titles simultaneously.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Brings together news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more on a variety of topics in all major disciplines.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides information about authors and their works. Includes author biographies, interviews, plot summaries, literary criticism, full-text literary journals, book reviews and more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
An electronic library of literary information including literary criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, and periodical articles.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Name change from Grove Dictionary of Art to Oxford Dictionary of Art in 2008. Online full-text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art.
Oxford Bibliographies - Art History This link opens in a new window
An ever-expanding series of expert bibliographies in the field of art history.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) online This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive English language dictionary, the OED provides meanings, history, and pronunciation for words, present and past.
Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research reviews
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
More commonly known as Grove Music Online. Grove Music Online includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Collection of Reference titles published by Sage.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Online access to Salem's Decade series and Milestone Documents in American History
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Online access to Salem's Survey of Long Fiction and many titles in their Critical Insights series.