Use this tool to find peer-reviewed articles, news, and magazines across nearly every academic field. A great place to begin research on any topic. Tip: Get the EBSCO mobile app to view content from all of the Library's EBSCO database subscriptions on your smartphone.
Use Google Scholar to search across a wide range of academic and scholarly literature. Unlike a standard Google search, Google Scholar focuses on scholarly sources—but it also includes citations for theses, conference papers, court opinions, preprints, and other materials that may not be appropriate for every assignment. Always check the publication type and date, and evaluate whether the resource meets your assignment’s requirements. Because Google Scholar uses natural language searching, results may not always be relevant. Consider how closely each source connects to your topic, especially if you need work written by experts in a specific field. Tip: Connect Google Scholar to the Roger Williams University Library to access more full-text resources through our subscriptions.
Search JSTOR to find peer-reviewed journal articles and scholarly e-books across a wide range of disciplines. This digital archive supports deep research in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and arts, with strong historical coverage. Ideal for students writing research papers or conducting literature reviews. Note: Be sure to check publication dates—JSTOR includes many older articles that may not reflect current research.
Use this gateway to search across all ProQuest databases the library subscribes to, including research articles, dissertations, trade publications, and more. This is a great place to start multidisciplinary research, especially in the sciences, business, and social sciences.
Access peer-reviewed journals covering science, medicine, business, and engineering. Use this database to find scholarly research for lab reports, senior theses, or presentations in STEM and business-related fields.
Search scholarly journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use this resource to support research in fields like psychology, engineering, biology, and education.
