Contact Me
Lindsey Gumb
Contact:
Lindsey Gumb
Scholarly Communications Librarian
Associate Professor
Roger Williams University Library
Bristol, RI
Scholarly Communications Librarian
Associate Professor
Roger Williams University Library
Bristol, RI
401-254-3225
Website
Assignment
News & Background information
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowGreat place to start your research! Search across hundreds of reference titles and link out to other library databases.
- Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
- New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Country Profiles
- CIA World FactbookFrom the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency
- Country Research - Lexis Academic UniverseSearch Research Countries from the Lexis home page -- Covers socioeconomic profiles & news
- Country Watch This link opens in a new windowProvides critical country-specific intelligence and data. Find the World News Connection stories under the Country Wire link.
http://www.countrywatch.com.rwulib.idm.oclc.org/intelligence/countryreviews
- Foreign Information by CountryInstructions from University of Colorado Boulder Library on how to link to government web sites for countries around the world.
- globalEDGE - Country InsightsPrimarily business rankings but good for economic and political conditions. Headlines and economic statistics given for each country.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowIncludes a wealth of country information including economic and demographic data.
- The PRS Group Political Risk ServiceOriginally the Political Risk Services division of Frost & Sullivan, Inc. and then of UK-based IBC Group (now known as Informa), the firm occupies a unique and key role through the application of two globally recognized, proprietary, quantifiable, and back-tested methodologies: Political Risk Services (PRS) and the International Country Risk Guide (ICRG).
- World Bank - Open DataAccess to data about development in countries around the globe.
- WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs ResourcesA frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics.
- Background NotesFrom the U.S Department of State, Background Notes includes facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy and foreign relations of countries and independent states.
- Country Profiles: BBC NewsFull profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Scholarly content
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary academic database covering scholarly journals, newspapers, and more. An excellent place to begin your research.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes & abstracts scholarly journals in the field of political science. Covers global political discourse including law & legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, and humanitarian issues.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary academic database covering scholarly journals, newspapers and more. An excellent place to begin your research.